Computer number system decimal binary octal hexadecimal


A number system is defined as a system of writing to express numbers.
The four common type of number system are:-
  1. Decimal Number System
    The decimal numeral system is the standard system for denoting integer and non-integer numbers.It's also called Hindu-Arabic number system.Positional numeral system employing 10 as the base and requiring 10 different numerals,the digits 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9.It also requires a dot(decimal point) to represent decimal fractions.
  2. Binary Number System
    In binary number system,the value of base is 2.It is a way to write numbers using only two digit:0and1.These are used in computers as a series of "off" and "on" switches.
  3. Octal Number System
    In octal number system,the base is 8.There are only eight symbols or digits:0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7(8and9 do not exist).The largest single digit is 7.
  4. Hexadecimal Number System
    In hexadecimal number system,the base is 16.The first 10 digits are the same digits of decimal number system-0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 and 9.The remaining six digits are the symbols A,B,C,D,E and F,representing decimal values 10,11,12,13,14 and 15,respectively. 
© 2016 - 2022, All Rights are Reserved.